Personal Item Bag Guide: 13 Bags Checked Against Airline Size Limits

Personal Item Bag Guide: 13 Bags Checked Against Airline Size Limits

Affiliate disclosure: BestiPro may earn a commission from qualifying purchases made through links on this page, at no additional cost to you.

A personal item bag sounds simple until you reach the gate. Each airline sets its own size rule, and a soft bag can swell once it is packed. A bag that slides under the seat on one carrier may draw a fee on the next.

This guide is for travelers who want to skip bag fees, or who want a second bag that rides in front of them. It compares 13 bags sold on Amazon by listed size, laptop room, organization, and what owners say after real trips. It also covers options for men, how a personal item bag and carry-on work together, and what changes on international flights.

One rule shapes every pick below. The best personal item bag for planes is the one that still fits when packed. Measure it against the airline you actually fly.

Quick Verdict: Start With Your Airline’s Limit

No single personal item bag suits every airline. Limits differ, and soft bags grow when you fill them. Match the bag to the strictest rule you expect to face.

  • Strictest limit: The ECOHUB 25L is the only bag here listed at United’s commonly cited 17 × 10 × 9 inches. Its 9-inch depth is the catch on other airlines.
  • Most room under 18 × 14 × 8 inches: The LOVEVOOK 40L holds the most. Its listed size sits right on the limit, though.
  • Budget suitcase-style pack: The coofay backpack opens flat and has a shoe compartment. Several owners say that compartment eats into packing space.
  • Work week with the odd flight: The LOVEVOOK 27L has the lowest listed price and deep tumbler pockets.
  • Structured and pricier: The tomtoc 28L has a clamshell opening, and owners describe it as well built.
  • Overhead bin only: The Vera Bradley duffel is 22 inches wide, so it is a carry-on-sized bag.

One pattern shows up in owner feedback. A stuffed bag can pass the sizer and still cramp your legs. Several owners say an overfilled pack takes the whole space under the seat. Measure the bag when it is full and leave some give.

Three bags in this guide (numbers 1, 5, and 12) list no dimensions, so their airline fit can’t be checked from the listing. Labels such as “airline approved” are the seller’s wording, not an airline’s decision. A later section explains the difference.

Under-Seat Size Check: Airline Limits vs. Listed Bag Dimensions

This chart puts each airline limit next to the listed size of every bag that gives one. It shows at a glance which bags clear which limits.

Chart comparing airline personal item size limits with the listed dimensions of nine backpacks and one duffel. Most backpacks fit 18 × 14 × 8 inches, only one fits United's smaller limit, and the duffel is too wide for under-seat use.
Under-Seat Size Check: Airline Limits vs. Listed Bag Dimensions

How We Compared These Bags

This is an editorial comparison of personal item bag listings, airline policies, and owner feedback. It is not a lab test or a hands-on trial of every bag. We set each listing’s published details beside airline size rules, then looked for patterns in what owners report after using the bags.

Here is what we weighed:

  • Listed size against airline limits. Depth gets extra attention, because soft bags change thickness the most.
  • Structure. A frame or floor panel helps a bag hold its shape under a seat.
  • Laptop and tablet room. We note the largest laptop each listing supports.
  • Organization and access. Pockets should help you find things, not hide them.
  • Security. We look at hidden pockets and at how easily a front pocket opens in a crowd.
  • Owner-reported durability and comfort. Long-term reports count for more than first impressions.
  • Listed price. Prices appear as listed and can change.

Where a listing and owners disagree, the review says so. Where a detail is missing, it says “Not specified.” Remarks marked as owner reports reflect individual experiences, not our measurements.

The bags appear in a fixed order. That order is not a ranking.

Figures for American, Delta, Frontier, and easyJet come from those carriers’ own pages, checked in October 2026. United and JetBlue figures are the ones commonly published by travel sites. Limits can change, so confirm yours before you fly.

Comparison Table: The First Five Bags at a Glance

Click a bag’s name to jump to its full review. Prices are listed prices and can change.

ProductUse caseListed sizeMain advantageMain limitationListed price
LOVEVOOK Wide-Open BackpackCommuting, teaching, light travel–Wide steel-frame opening; fits 40 oz tumblersNo listed dimensions to check against airline limits$27.98
LOVEVOOK 40L Travel BackpackWeekend trips on 18 × 14 × 8 airlines18 × 14 × 8 inLargest listed capacity (40L); packing cubes includedSits right at the common limit; airline claims need checking$32.99
Vera Bradley Large Travel DuffelOverhead-bin weekend bag12 H × 22 W × 12 D inRoomy cotton duffel with long handles and a removable strapToo wide for under-seat use; highest price$139.99
LOVEVOOK 27L Tumbler-Pocket BackpackWork days with occasional flights17.3 × 13.8 × 7.1 inDeep tumbler pockets; lowest listed priceSold in more than one size; confirm which dimensions apply$24.99
LOVEVOOK Puffer Laptop BackpackLight daily carry–15 pockets plus a tablet pouchNo listed dimensions; opening has little give when full (one owner)$25.98

Full reviews of all 13 bags follow, in the same fixed order.

1. LOVEVOOK Wide-Open 15.6-Inch Backpack: For Teachers and Commuters

  • Listed price: $27.98
  • Listed size: Not specified
  • Laptop sleeve: Padded, up to 15.6 inches

The headline feature is the steel-frame opening. The listing says it is 7.5 inches wide and stays open on its own, so you can see everything without digging. Some owners like how easy it makes reaching in.

Travel reports are the interesting part. One owner bought bags for his wife and mother. Between them, he says, they have made at least 20 to 30 trips, many as personal items on planes. Another carried hers to Vietnam and back and got it under every seat, though a stuffed bag cut into her leg room.

What the listing doesn’t fully tell you

  • The listing says the dimensions are “optimized to fit under standard airline seats” but gives no measurements. You can’t check the bag against an airline limit before buying.
  • Owners disagree on posture. Some say it stands or sits open on its own. One says it no longer stands straight once the computers come out.
  • The large front pocket has one zipper that starts at the bottom corner, according to one owner. Items can fall out when you open it.

Who it suits: Teachers and commuters who want a wide-mouth work bag that can also ride under a seat on some flights.

Who should skip it: Travelers who need published dimensions to confirm airline fit. Also anyone who wants a fully zip-secured front pocket.

Pros

  • Wide, steel-frame opening for quick access
  • Elastic side pockets sized for 40 oz tumblers
  • Owner reports of heavy use, including 20 to 30 trips
  • Hidden back pocket, which one owner calls handy for a passport and wallet

Cons

  • No listed dimensions or weight
  • Large front pocket has a single zipper, per one owner
  • A stuffed bag can limit leg room, per one owner

2. LOVEVOOK 40L Travel Backpack: For Weekend Trips on 18 × 14 × 8 Airlines

  • Listed price: $32.99
  • Listed size: 18 × 14 × 8 inches (40L)
  • Extras listed: Toiletry bag, shoe bag, and a wet pocket

This is the roomiest bag in the guide. The listing gives 40 liters, four main compartments, and a suitcase-style opening. It also includes a toiletry bag and a shoe bag, plus a water-resistant wet pocket for damp swimwear or towels.

Owner feedback is upbeat about space and comfort. One owner says it fits under an American Airlines seat and handled a seven-day trip alongside a carry-on. Another uses it for three- to four-night trips, and a third packed three pairs of sandals in the shoe bag. A fourth said a light beige bag stayed clean through a 3.5-week Europe trip.

A few real-world things the listing doesn’t mention

  • The listing says the bag fits “Spirit, Frontier, JetBlue, EasyJet, etc.” Spirit stopped flying in May 2026, so that name is out of date.
  • At 18 × 14 × 8 inches, the listed size sits exactly on American’s and Frontier’s limit. A soft bag that bulges when packed has no spare room.
  • That same size is a few millimeters over easyJet’s 45 × 36 × 20 cm limit. It is also above JetBlue’s commonly cited 17 × 13 × 8 inches. Check both before relying on the airline list.
  • “TSA-approved” in the listing is marketing language, not a size guarantee. A later section explains why.

Who it suits: Weekend travelers on American, Frontier, or similar airlines who want maximum volume in one bag. The title names both men and women as the audience.

Who should skip it: Anyone flying United or JetBlue, where limits are tighter. Also travelers who tend to overpack, since owners of several bags in this guide say an overfilled pack cramps leg room.

Pros

  • Largest listed capacity in the guide (40L)
  • Toiletry bag, shoe bag, and wet pocket included
  • Under-seat fit reported by two owners, including on American
  • Suitcase-style opening and a hidden padded electronics compartment (listed)

Cons

  • Listed size leaves no margin under the common 18 × 14 × 8 limit
  • Airline compatibility claims are partly outdated or doubtful
  • Weight is not specified

3. Vera Bradley Large Travel Duffel: For Overhead-Bin Weekend Trips

  • Listed price: $139.99
  • Listed size: 12 H × 22 W × 12 D inches
  • Material: Cotton (the listing shows a Botanical Paisley print)
  • Laptop compartment: Not specified

This is the odd one out. It is a soft duffel, not a backpack. At 22 inches, it is wider than any published personal item limit in this guide. The listing calls it “carryon compliant,” so treat it as an overhead-bin bag for a weekend away.

Owners use it for road trips, gym runs, and short getaways. They call it large and soft, and one praises the strong seams. Another points to heavy-duty zippers and says it works for flying when you’d rather not check a bag.

The practical details not obvious from the product page

  • Depth is the number to watch. The listing gives 12 inches, while American and Delta publish a 22 × 14 × 9 inch carry-on limit that includes handles. A soft duffel can compress, but a full one may not.
  • The listing mentions no laptop compartment. It counts three elastic mesh pockets inside, plus one zip pocket and three slip pockets outside.
  • One four-star owner expected more for the price. That owner counted six small slip-in pockets and two larger ones inside, saw no zippered interior compartments, and called the shoulder pad skimpy. That count differs from the listing’s.
  • Prices move. One owner said Vera Bradley prices swing widely and bought during a sale.

Who it suits: Weekend travelers with a carry-on allowance who like a soft, patterned duffel. Owners also use it for road trips and gym days.

Who should skip it: Anyone flying on a personal-item-only fare. Also anyone who wants backpack straps or a laptop sleeve.

Pros

  • Roomy, soft body, according to owners
  • 15-inch strap drop plus a removable, adjustable 53-inch strap (listed)
  • Owners praise the seams and zippers
  • Many print options, according to owners

Cons

  • Highest listed price in the guide
  • Too wide for under-seat use
  • Basic pocket layout, per one owner
  • No laptop compartment listed

4. LOVEVOOK 27L Tumbler-Pocket Backpack: For Work Days With an Occasional Flight

  • Listed price: $24.99
  • Listed size: 17.3 × 13.8 × 7.1 inches (27L)
  • Laptop sleeve: Padded, up to 15.6 inches

At $24.99, this is the lowest-priced bag in the guide. The listing pairs two large side pockets with 27 liters of space and 16 organizers across five compartments. It also mentions a luggage pass-through strap and a hidden back pocket.

Owners confirm the pockets are generous. One has room for a 40-ounce Stanley, and another fits a 32-ounce bottle in the side pocket. A teacher fits an accordion folder, three manuals, two notebooks, and a laptop, and calls the side pockets deep.

On flights, one owner says it fit under the seat on an overseas trip with a carry-on suitcase. Another says it fits if it isn’t packed too full.

What becomes clear only after looking closer

  • More than one size is sold, but the listing shows one set of dimensions. Owners mention 15.6-inch and 17.3-inch versions. Confirm which measurements apply before you assume an airline fit.
  • On listed numbers, the bag fits within 18 × 14 × 8 inches and easyJet’s under-seat limit. It is slightly over JetBlue’s commonly cited 17 × 13 × 8 and well over United’s.
  • “Airport Approved” in the listing is marketing language. The airline decides at the gate, and a packed soft bag can measure bigger than the listed size.

Who it suits: Teachers and office workers who want big bottle pockets and an occasional flight bag.

Who should skip it: Frequent United or JetBlue flyers. Also anyone who needs proof of under-seat fit on strict carriers.

Pros

  • Lowest listed price in the guide
  • Large side pockets that fit Stanley-style cups, per owners
  • Five compartments and 16 organizers (listed)
  • Luggage pass-through strap (listed)

Cons

  • More than one size sold, with one set of listed dimensions
  • Too large for United’s smaller limit
  • Under-seat fit depends on how full it is, per one owner

5. LOVEVOOK Puffer Laptop Backpack: For Light Daily Carry

  • Listed price: $25.98
  • Listed size: Not specified
  • Laptop and tablet: 15.6-inch laptop compartment and 12.9-inch tablet pouch

A quilted puffer front panel gives this pack a distinctive look. The listing counts 15 pockets and a steel-frame, wide-open design. Side pockets hold 40-ounce bottles and use S-ring buckle straps to keep them secure.

Owners use it mostly for work, school, and commuting. They call it light and not bulky, and one fits a MacBook Air with plenty of room left over. Both inside and outside bottle holders earn praise, and one owner confirms a 40-ounce cup fits. Others mention short trips, but none describes an under-seat flight.

What the listing doesn’t fully tell you

  • No dimensions or weight appear in the listing. Without them, you can’t compare the bag with an airline limit.
  • More than one size exists. Owners mention 15.6-inch and 17-inch versions.
  • A four-star owner says the wide opening has no give once the bag is full.

Who it suits: Commuters, students, and teachers who want a light, organized bag with a tablet pouch.

Who should skip it: Flyers who need confirmed dimensions. Also anyone who tends to pack a bag to the brim.

Pros

  • 15 pockets plus a tablet pouch (listed)
  • Wide opening that one owner finds easy to see into and reach
  • Bottle holders inside and outside, per owners
  • Wipes clean, according to one owner

Cons

  • No listed dimensions or weight
  • No owner describes an under-seat flight
  • Opening has little give when the bag is full, per one owner

6. Coofay Travel Backpack: Budget-Friendly Choice With a Shoe Compartment

  • Listed price: $25.99
  • Listed size: 16.5 × 11.8 × 5.9 inches (H × W × D); about 2 lb by manual measurement
  • Laptop sleeve: Up to 15.6 inches

At a listed 5.9 inches deep, this is one of the slimmest bags in the guide. It opens 180 degrees like a suitcase and adds a separate shoe compartment and a wet pocket. The listing pitches it for trips of two to three days.

Its flight feedback is among the most detailed here. One owner has used it on Frontier, United, and American, and says it passed an airport sizing box without pushing. Others report fitting it under seats on JetBlue and United. A Delta traveler says two of the packs fit under the seats only when carefully arranged.

A few real-world things the listing doesn’t mention

  • The shoe compartment takes space from the main compartment once it holds shoes. At least four owners say so. One suggests packing everything else first and adding shoes last, and another says it works only with sandals. Others like it, and one fit sneakers and sandals in it.
  • The listing doesn’t mention a USB port, but three owners do. One explains that it accepts USB-A only and works as a pass-through. You put a power bank inside the bag and plug the cable into the outside port.
  • The luggage strap runs tight, according to two owners. One found it a snug fit over an ergonomic suitcase handle.
  • Strap quality gets mixed reports. One owner says the straps looked cheap and began fraying after one use. Another reports zippers and straps in good shape after at least six flights.
  • Owners reviewed the medium and mention larger versions. The listing shows one set of dimensions, so confirm which size it describes.

Who it suits: Budget-minded flyers on two- to four-day trips who like suitcase-style packing and a separate spot for shoes.

Who should skip it: Anyone who wants quick-access pockets or a roomy bottle holder. Also travelers who plan to fill both the shoe compartment and the main compartment on a longer trip.

Pros

  • Shallow listed depth of 5.9 inches
  • Detailed owner reports of under-seat use on several airlines
  • 180-degree opening, shoe compartment, and wet pocket (listed)
  • Low listed price

Cons

  • Shoe compartment cuts into main space, per at least four owners
  • Bottle pockets run small, per three owners
  • Luggage strap runs tight, per two owners
  • Basic laptop slot and no quick-access pocket, per one owner

7. LOVEVOOK Teacher Work Laptop Bag: For Office Days and Classrooms

  • Listed price: $29.99
  • Listed size: 17 H × 13 L × 5 W inches
  • Extras listed: Small organizer case (5 × 5 × 2 inches) and a dust bag

This bag is built for the workday. The listing stresses a wide opening, a padded laptop and tablet section, and a hidden anti-theft pocket on the back. It also lists a luggage strap or trolley sleeve and stretchy side pockets for thick bottles.

Nothing in the listing pitches it as an airline bag. Its shortest listed side is 5 inches, the slimmest of any bag here.

Owners describe office, school, and appointment use. One stores it on the floors of transport vans and doctors’ offices and reports no wear at the bottom. No owner describes a flight, though one says it holds a change of clothes and overnight items.

The practical details not obvious from the product page

  • The listing says the front pocket has button fasteners. One owner notes the big front flap has no zipper, so a stranger could reach in easily. That owner says it isn’t an issue away from crowds.
  • A 17-inch laptop is too big for the padded sleeve, one owner found. That owner says it fits the main compartment.
  • Fit varies with body size. An owner who is 5’1″ found it a good size for her back. Another called it a bit bulky and said the straps loosened on their own.
  • A full bag can extend further than it feels. One owner bumped into people on crowded elevators.

Who it suits: Teachers, office workers, and anyone who carries files, a laptop, and a lunch bag.

Who should skip it: Travelers who want a zippered front pocket in crowded terminals. Also anyone who wants a 17-inch laptop in the sleeve, or published proof of airline fit.

Pros

  • Wide opening with no flip top, which one owner prefers
  • Internal bar that helps the bag keep its form, per one owner
  • Stretchy side pockets that held two bottles for one owner
  • Small organizer case and dust bag included (listed)

Cons

  • Front flap pocket has no zipper, per one owner
  • Straps loosened for one owner
  • 17-inch laptops don’t fit the sleeve
  • No airline-fit claim and no flight reports

8. EMPSIGN 17-Inch Laptop Backpack: For Larger Laptops

  • Listed price: $36.99
  • Listed size: 17.2 H × 12.2 L × 7.5 D inches; 1.85 lb
  • Laptop sleeve: Padded, most laptops up to 17.3 inches

Most backpacks here stop at 15.6 inches. Its padded compartment takes laptops up to 17.3 inches, according to the listing. The bag also has hidden pockets, extra-deep side pockets, a luggage strap, and a double handle with a metal buckle. The listing calls the design unisex.

Owner feedback centers on work and school, with some travel. One owner used it five days a week for more than a year, plus a vacation, and says it still looks new. Another used it as a personal item on a weekend flight and says it stowed perfectly under the seat. A third, who travels often for work, says it goes in the overhead bin without help or under the seat with room for the feet.

What becomes clear only after looking closer

  • The listing doesn’t mention a charging port, yet three owners describe one. One calls it a pocket and hookup for a battery charger and got a charger for it later.
  • A 17-inch laptop fits, though one owner calls it snug.
  • At 7.5 inches deep, the listed size clears an 8-inch limit by only half an inch. A full bag can bulge past that. It is also over United’s smaller limit.

Who it suits: Anyone carrying a 17-inch laptop who wants a structured work bag that sometimes flies.

Who should skip it: Flyers who face United’s strict limit. Also anyone who expects a built-in battery.

Pros

  • Fits laptops up to 17.3 inches (listed)
  • Wide top opening that several owners praise
  • Year-plus daily use reported by one owner
  • Under-seat and overhead-bin fit, per owners

Cons

  • 7.5-inch depth leaves little margin under an 8-inch limit
  • Charging port isn’t mentioned in the listing
  • Over United’s smaller limit
  • Pricier than most of the other bags in this guide

9. LOVEVOOK Laptop Backpack Purse (Fits Up to 17 Inches): For Structured Daily Carry

  • Listed price: $27.97
  • Listed size: 17 H × 12 L × 7.8 D inches; 1.83 lb
  • Laptop sleeve: Padded, up to 17 inches
  • Care: Hand wash only

A steel frame and reinforced edges keep the main compartment in shape, according to the listing. The nylon body, mesh shoulder straps, and a USB charging port round out the feature list. A back anti-theft pocket sits close to the port.

Owners say the frame works. Two report that the bag stands on its own when opened. Another notes a strong wire around the top edge and none in the bottom, so the bag doesn’t feel bulky when it isn’t full.

A student used it daily for more than a year, including road trips and flights, and says it looks new. One owner said dogs scratched the bottom of a 2022 bag, then ordered the same bag again.

What the listing doesn’t fully tell you

  • One owner says the oval zipper compartment on the front is too easy to open in a crowd. Another says a front zippered compartment has a single zip pull, so closing it means zipping the full 25-inch run.
  • The USB port is a pass-through. Two owners describe putting a power bank inside the bag and running a phone cable to the outer port. The listing doesn’t say a battery is included.
  • One four-star owner also found the lining not waterproof and the carry straps a bit short.

Who it suits: People who want a structured, purse-like backpack for work or school and an occasional flight, especially with a 17-inch laptop.

Who should skip it: Anyone who plans to keep valuables in the front oval pocket. Also travelers who want machine-washable fabric or who fly on United.

Pros

  • Steel frame and reinforced edges help it keep its shape (listed)
  • Fits up to a 17-inch laptop (listed)
  • One owner reports under-seat fit, and another reports daily use for more than a year
  • Low listed price

Cons

  • Front zippered compartment draws complaints from two owners
  • Hand wash only (listed)
  • USB port needs your own power bank
  • 7.8-inch depth leaves little margin under an 8-inch limit

10. ECOHUB 25L Under-Seat Backpack: For Strict 17 × 10 × 9 Limits

  • Listed price: $40.49
  • Listed size: 17 × 10 × 9 inches (25L); 1.6 lb
  • Laptop sleeve: Padded, up to 15.6 inches
  • Materials: At least 50% recycled materials, per the listing

This is the only bag here built around United’s personal item size. The listing gives 17 × 10 × 9 inches, a 180-degree opening, and side compression straps. It also adds a trolley sleeve, an AirTag pocket, and a separate laptop compartment.

Four owners mention United’s limit. Two are happy with the bag, and the other two add warnings about specific seats, covered below.

One of the happy owners flew to Aruba with it and a carry-on suitcase, and says it fit under the seat. The other says it feels stable on a rolling bag with the trolley sleeve over the handle. Owners also like the top pocket for a phone and other quick-access items.

A few real-world things the listing doesn’t mention

  • More than one size exists. Owners mention 17-inch and 18-inch versions, and the listed measurements match the 17-inch one.
  • Depth is the catch outside United. The listed 9 inches is above the 8-inch limit at American and Frontier, and above easyJet’s 20 cm (about 7.9 inches). Owners say the compression straps slim the bag, so measure it packed.
  • The listing also calls the bag compatible with Spirit, Frontier, and easyJet. Spirit stopped flying in May 2026, and the depth issue above applies to the other two.
  • Seats differ. One owner says United aisle seats have floor support bars that made the fit tight. Another found an overpacked bag a challenge under a First Class seat.

Who it suits: United flyers and travelers who stack a personal item on a rolling carry-on.

Who should skip it: Anyone who carries heavy loads, since one owner wished for a hip strap. Also travelers who want a stand-alone carry-on, which one owner says this is not.

Pros

  • Listed at United’s commonly cited personal item size
  • Trolley sleeve that feels stable on a rolling bag, per one owner
  • 180-degree opening and compression straps (listed)
  • Top-access pocket that owners like

Cons

  • Listed depth of 9 inches is above the 8-inch limit at some airlines
  • Tight under some seats, per two owners
  • Floppy sides, a bottle pocket on one side only, and weak free-standing, per two owners
  • Pricier than most bags in this guide

11. LOVEVOOK Quilted Laptop Backpack Purse (15.6-Inch): For Work and Short Trips

  • Listed price: $29.98
  • Listed size: 17 H × 12 L × 7.5 D inches; 1.7 lb
  • Laptop and tablet: 15.6-inch laptop compartment and 12.9-inch iPad slot
  • USB port: Included (the listing says the power bank is not)

The listing counts four compartments and 17 pockets. It adds a quilted nylon exterior with V-shaped embroidery, leather handles, and mesh shoulder straps. A USB port is included, but the listing states that a power bank is not.

The best evidence here is longevity. One owner has used it for two years of European travel. Another has carried it for more than four years on work trips across Asia and Europe and says they would buy it again. Others praise the pockets, and one owner fits a 13-inch MacBook Air in the padded laptop section and slides the bag over a suitcase handle.

The practical details not obvious from the product page

  • Comfort has limits. One four-star owner found it less comfortable than a larger LOVEVOOK work pack. That owner said it lacks back support for heavy items such as a computer or clipboard. They recommend it for short trips only.
  • Bottle pockets split opinion. One owner says regular bottles fall out of the shallow pocket. Another loves the expandable holder, and a third fits stainless steel cups on both sides.
  • Owners mention air travel, but none describes an under-seat fit. The listed 7.5-inch depth sits half an inch inside an 8-inch limit.
  • It can feel heavy when stuffed, according to one owner.

Who it suits: Business travelers and commuters who want a compact, professional-looking pack that doubles as a purse on flights.

Who should skip it: Anyone who carries heavy loads every day. Also anyone who wants deep bottle pockets or who flies on United.

Pros

  • Owner reports of two years and four-plus years of use
  • 17 pockets and a 12.9-inch iPad slot (listed)
  • Slides over a suitcase handle, per one owner
  • Kept contents dry in rain, per two owners

Cons

  • Limited back support for heavy items, per one owner
  • Bottle pocket depth draws mixed reports
  • USB port needs your own power bank
  • No owner describes an under-seat fit

12. VANKEAN 15.6-Inch Laptop Backpack: For Everyday Commuting

  • Listed price: $33.99
  • Listed size: Not specified
  • Laptop and tablet: 15.6-inch laptop compartment and a padded sleeve for tablets up to 12.9 inches
  • Weight and material: Not specified

This pack is organized for desk and commute use. The listing counts five compartments plus two side pockets. It adds a velcro laptop strap, mesh pockets for a mouse and cables, a luggage strap, and a top handle.

Owners use it for work, school, and gym days. One fit a medical clipboard taller than 14 inches in the laptop compartment. Two say a Stanley-style cup fits the side pocket. Another reports that a laptop stayed dry after the bag dropped into a large puddle.

What becomes clear only after looking closer

  • The listing gives no dimensions, weight, or fabric type, so you can’t check airline fit. No owner describes a flight.
  • Three owners mention a USB or charging port that the listing doesn’t. One hasn’t used it for lack of a portable charger, and another didn’t realize the bag had one. Confirm the details before you buy if it matters to you.
  • Owners mention 15.6-inch and 17.3-inch versions.
  • Color can differ from the photos. One owner’s “pink” bag arrived light brown with a pinkish tint.

Who it suits: Commuters, students, and teachers who want laptop and tablet organization at a modest price. One owner calls the look suited to both men and women.

Who should skip it: Flyers who need size specifications. Also anyone who needs a confirmed USB port or an exact color match.

Pros

  • Velcro laptop strap and a separate tablet sleeve (listed)
  • Luggage strap and top handle (listed)
  • Side pocket fits a Stanley-style cup, per owners
  • One owner reports it kept a laptop dry in a puddle

Cons

  • No listed dimensions, weight, or material
  • USB port isn’t in the listing
  • One owner reports a color mismatch
  • No owner describes a flight

13. Tomtoc 28L Travel Backpack: For Frequent Flyers on a Larger Budget

  • Listed price: $79.99
  • Listed size: 17.72 × 11.81 × 7.87 inches (45 × 30 × 20 cm); about 2.20 lb (28L)
  • Laptop and tablet: 16-inch laptop and 13-inch iPad compartment

The Navigator-T66 Liteway is the second-priciest bag in the guide. Its clamshell main compartment opens like a small suitcase. The listing names YKK zippers, a chest buckle, and a 3D-padded back panel, and a rear strap slides over a suitcase handle.

Owners praise the materials and build. Two compare it favorably with pricier brands. Three owners say it fits under the seat, and one adds that it also fits overhead bins. Another checked the airline’s rules and found the 28L qualifies as a personal item.

Torso fit varies. One owner found the bag short for a longer torso, while a 5’2″ owner calls the fit excellent.

What the listing doesn’t fully tell you

  • The listing says the laptop compartment opens 90 to 180 degrees. It adds that you can “breeze through airport screening without removing your device.” In standard lanes, a 2018 TSA bulletin requires electronics larger than a cell phone to go in a bin. One owner says the flat-lying compartment saves time at screening.
  • The listed 45 × 30 × 20 cm matches easyJet’s under-seat limit on length and depth, and it sits inside 18 × 14 × 8 inches. It is over United’s commonly cited 17 × 10 × 9.
  • At about 2.20 lb, it is the heaviest listed weight in the guide. The listing says size and weight vary slightly because the bags are handmade.
  • Owners find little built-in organization. One wishes for more small pockets for cables, keys, and receipts, and another returned the bag for that reason.
  • The title also says “PFAS Free,” a manufacturer claim. The listing text gives no testing or certification detail.

Who it suits: Frequent flyers on 18 × 14 × 8 inch or easyJet-style limits who want a structured clamshell and sturdy materials.

Who should skip it: United flyers on the strict limit. Also anyone who wants an everyday commuter pack with many small pockets, since one owner returned it for that reason.

Pros

  • Slight frame and floor panel help it hold its shape, per one owner
  • Clamshell compartment with access from both sides, per owners
  • Ripstop fabric and solid side bottle pockets that owners praise
  • Under-seat fit reported by several owners

Cons

  • Second-highest listed price in the guide
  • Heaviest listed weight
  • Little organization for small items, per two owners
  • Strap padding and back length draw complaints from two owners

What “Airline Approved” Really Means on a Personal Item Bag Listing

Seven of the 13 listings here use wording such as “approved,” “TSA-friendly,” or “carryon compliant.” It sounds official. It is not a decision made by any airline.

The airline pages we checked publish size rules, not lists of approved bags. American and Frontier give exact dimensions. easyJet does too, in centimeters. Delta gives none and says the item must fit under the seat in front of you.

TSA is a separate matter. It screens what is inside your bag at the checkpoint. When TSA began allowing “checkpoint-friendly” laptop bags in 2008, it said it was not approving or endorsing any bag design or manufacturer. Its 2018 rule for standard lanes still sends electronics larger than a cell phone to a bin.

Treat these labels as the seller’s opinion of fit. Ask three questions instead:

  1. Does the listing give dimensions at all?
  2. Do those dimensions fit the limit of the airline you fly?
  3. Does the bag still fit when it is packed?

Two examples from this guide show why. Bag 2’s listing says it fits most budget airlines and names Spirit and easyJet among them. Spirit stopped flying in May 2026. The listed 18 × 14 × 8 inch size is also a few millimeters over easyJet’s limit.

Bag 3 is called “carryon compliant,” yet its listed 12-inch depth is above the 9-inch depth in American’s and Delta’s carry-on limit. A soft duffel may squeeze in, but the label doesn’t promise it.

When a Bag Fits the Sizer but Not Your Legroom

A sizer measures the bag. It does not measure your knees. Owner feedback shows the gap between the two.

One traveler took a bag to Vietnam and back and got it under every seat. When it was stuffed, though, it limited her leg room.

Another owner says a full bag takes up the whole space under the seat and is a little uncomfortable for the legs. A third notes that a bag packed to the gills leaves little foot space. That owner says this may be alright on short flights but not on long-haul or international ones.

Seats vary too. One owner says United aisle seats have floor support bars that made a 17 × 10 × 9 bag hard to fit. Another struggled to fit an overpacked bag under a United First Class seat. A Delta traveler says two packs fit under the seats only when carefully arranged.

A few habits help:

  • Pack bulky items last. One owner fills the main compartment first and adds shoes at the end, which saves room overall.
  • Cinch the compression straps. Owners of bags 6 and 10 say the side straps slim a full bag.
  • Move in-flight items out. Keep a passport, phone, and boarding pass in a small crossbody bag so you never dig under the seat.
  • Leave some give. Owners of bags 4 and 10 both say the fit depends on how full the bag is.

Personal Item Bag Size Explained: Four Measurements That Decide Whether It Flies Free

You avoid a bag fee only when four numbers line up. Check them in this order.

1. The airline’s published limit

Start with the airline you will fly. These are the figures for the carriers covered in this guide:

  • American: 18 × 14 × 8 inches (45 × 35 × 20 cm)
  • Frontier: 18 × 14 × 8 inches including handles, wheels, and straps, up to 35 pounds
  • United: commonly cited as 17 × 10 × 9 inches
  • JetBlue: commonly cited as 17 × 13 × 8 inches
  • Delta: no published dimensions; the item must fit under the seat in front of you
  • easyJet: 45 × 36 × 20 cm including handles and wheels, up to 15 kg

Carriers can change their rules at any time. Confirm yours on the airline’s website before you fly.

2. The bag’s listed size

Compare the listing’s dimensions with that limit. Then check which size option you are ordering. Several bags here come in more than one size, including numbers 4, 5, 6, 10, and 12. The listed numbers may describe only one of them.

3. The packed size

Soft bags change shape. Depth tends to grow the most, because soft sides push outward. Frontier says it checks personal item size during boarding, and easyJet checks cabin bag sizes before boarding.

Structure helps. Owners credit a steel frame in bag 9, a floor piece in bag 13, and an internal bar in bag 7 with keeping the shape. Bags 8, 9, and 11 list depths of 7.5 to 7.8 inches against an 8-inch limit, which leaves very little margin.

4. Weight and comfort

Frontier allows up to 35 pounds. At easyJet the limit is 15 kg, and you must be able to lift and carry the bag yourself. Comfort may limit you before the rules do. One student says a full bag hurts the back, and another owner wished for a hip strap.

If you are flying abroad

A personal item bag for international travel has to meet the foreign carrier’s rule, not a US one. Take easyJet, which allows a free small bag up to 45 × 36 × 20 cm, about 17.7 × 14.2 × 7.9 inches. A bag sold at exactly 18 × 14 × 8 inches is a few millimeters over that.

Owners report taking bags from this guide to Europe, Vietnam, and Aruba. For any carrier abroad, read its own cabin bag page before you pack.

Matching a Bag to Your Trip, Budget, and Packing Style

Once the size works, the rest depends on how you travel. Use these pairings as a starting point.

If you pair a personal item bag with a rolling carry-on

Owners of bags 1, 6, 10, and 11 describe sliding the luggage strap or trolley sleeve over a suitcase handle. That frees a hand in the terminal. One owner of bag 6 moved shoes and toiletries into the backpack so the carry-on held only clothes.

Whether you can bring both bags depends on the fare. American and Delta each allow one personal item plus one carry-on, and Delta lists both as free. Frontier’s carry-on is paid, and easyJet charges for its larger cabin bag.

If security worries you

Owners flag the same weak spot on several bags: front pockets that open easily. Bag 1’s large front pocket, bag 7’s button-closed flap, and bag 9’s oval pocket all drew comments. A hidden pocket against the back panel is the safer place for a passport. If crowded terminals still worry you, an anti-theft crossbody bag adds a second, more secure spot for documents.

If you pack light

A backpack can be more than a short trip needs. For a day trip or a one-night stay, a crossbody sling bag may be enough.

If you are shopping for a personal item bag for men

The listings for bags 2 and 6 name both men and women, and bag 8’s listing calls its design unisex. Bags 10 and 13 use neutral titles. One owner of bag 1 wished for a men’s version. An owner of bag 12 calls its look suited to both men and women.

Many of these bags come in black or other darker shades, based on the colors owners list. Check the color options on each listing, since not every style comes in every shade.

If you fly long-haul

Comfort matters more on a long flight, and leg room matters most. One owner of bag 6 wished for an outside loop to hang a neck pillow. If you are still choosing one, see our guide to travel pillows for long flights.

If budget decides

Seven of the 13 bags list under $30, and three of those (bags 4, 5, and 6) list under $26. Among the backpacks, a higher price does not buy more volume. The ECOHUB ($40.49) and the tomtoc ($79.99) both list fewer liters than the $32.99 LOVEVOOK 40L. The ECOHUB targets one airline’s limit, and owners say the tomtoc leans on build quality.

Pre-purchase checklist

  1. Find your airline’s current personal item rule on its own website.
  2. Note whether the limit counts handles, wheels, and straps.
  3. Check that the listing gives dimensions. Bags 1, 5, and 12 do not.
  4. Confirm which size option you are ordering.
  5. Compare depth first, then height and width.
  6. Pack the bag at home and measure it when full.
  7. Check the largest laptop it holds and how you will reach it at security.
  8. Decide which pockets you will use in flight and how easily a stranger could open them.
  9. Weigh the packed bag against the airline’s weight limit and your own comfort.

Personal Item Bag Questions, Answered

What size is a personal item bag?

It depends on the airline. American and Frontier allow up to 18 × 14 × 8 inches, and Frontier counts handles, wheels, and straps. United’s limit is commonly cited as 17 × 10 × 9 inches. Delta publishes no dimensions and asks only that the item fit under the seat in front of you.

Can a backpack count as a personal item?

Usually, yes, if it fits under the seat in front of you. Delta lists a small backpack among its examples of personal items. Measure the backpack when it is packed, because soft bags can bulge past their listed size.

Do I have to take my laptop out at airport security?

A 2018 TSA bulletin requires electronics larger than a cell phone to go in a bin in standard lanes. TSA PreCheck travelers typically keep laptops in their bags. A bag marketed as TSA-friendly does not change those rules, and procedures can differ by airport, so follow the officer’s instructions.

Can I bring a personal item and a carry-on?

Often, yes, but it depends on the airline and fare. American allows one personal item and one carry-on bag, and Delta lists both as free. Frontier’s personal item is free, but its carry-on is paid. Check your ticket’s baggage rules before you pack.

Are personal item rules the same on international airlines?

No. Each carrier sets its own limit. For example, easyJet allows a free small bag up to 45 × 36 × 20 cm, including handles and wheels. It checks sizes before boarding and charges extra for its larger cabin bag, so read the carrier’s page before you fly.

Who Is Behind This Comparison

Iman Dehghani Firoozabadi is the Senior Product Reviewer at BestiPro and a digital marketing strategist with a strong interest in everyday carry (EDC). BestiPro’s guides cover bags, luggage, and accessories.

This guide follows a simple editorial rule. Manufacturer claims, published specifications, and owner opinions stay separate. Listing claims are labeled as such, specifications are repeated as published, and anything missing is marked “Not specified.” Owner remarks are treated as individual experiences, not measurements.

The result is an editorial comparison, not a lab test. If you spot a figure that has changed or a detail that needs correcting, tell us in the comments.

Resources

Three Questions That Settle Your Choice

Which airline limit am I facing? If you fly United, the ECOHUB 25L is the one bag here listed at its commonly cited 17 × 10 × 9 inches. On American, Frontier, or easyJet, most of the other bags clear the limit on paper. Delta leaves the call to the seat in front of you.

What do I need to carry? A 17-inch laptop points to bags 8 or 9, and big bottles point to bag 4. A shoe compartment points to bag 6. Maximum volume points to bag 2, and a structured clamshell points to bag 13.

How full will it be? Pack it at home and measure it. A bag that passes the sizer but cramps your legs is the wrong personal item bag for a long flight.

The main limitation to remember is that three listings give no dimensions, and several describe their own fit in marketing terms. Verify every “approved” claim against your airline’s page. If your airline uses the smaller limit, the ECOHUB 25L listing is a sensible place to start.

Check the ECOHUB 25L price

Questions about your airline’s limit or your packing list? Leave a comment with the details.

Affiliate disclosure: BestiPro may earn a commission when you buy through links on this page. This does not change the price you pay or the editorial criteria used in this guide.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *